Disabling Pop-Up Blockers (Chrome and Edge)

I ran into a heck of a problem the other day, and I have to admit I felt pretty awful not being able to solve it right away. In my personal life, I use Google’s Chrome internet browser every day, and yet, somehow, I’ve never had need to turn off the pop-up blocker. (This is what stops annoying pop-up ads from appearing on your screen when you’re on the internet. But sometimes the pop-up blocker prevents legitimate pop-up windows used by many sites from, well, popping up.)
Now, this should be easy enough to figure out, right? When someone asks me to do this, it should take me 30 seconds or less. After all, on Internet Explorer, Microsoft’s previous internet browser and the one I’ve disabled the pop-up blocker on most often, it is really simple. At the top of the window, there’s a menu marked Tools, and one of the options is pop-up blocker.
In Chrome and Microsoft’s new browser, Edge, it’s a lot trickier. When I had a minute to research how to turn off the pop-up blocker, let me say I felt a lot less awful for not finding it right away. How anyone could be expected to intuitively find the pop-up blocker in either of these browsers is beyond me. But these are the two browsers the public computers here at the Library are now using (and they are great browsers), so I had to figure it out. And to save you some frustration, here are the instructions.
Chrome
chrome-1
Click the three dots (menu) in the top right of the browser. Then Click on Settings.
chrome-2
Scroll all the way to the bottom and click on Show advanced settings.
chrome-3
Scroll down to the Privacy heading and click on Content settings….
chrome-4

Scroll down the pop-up box (oh the irony!) to the Pop-ups heading and click the circle to the left of Allow all sites to show pop-ups. Finish by clicking Done.

Edge

edge-1

Click the three dots (menu) in the top right of the browser. Then Click on Settings.

edge-2

Scroll down and under Advanced settings, click on View advanced settings.

edge-3

The toggle under Block pop-ups will be blue and white and say On. Click the blue, turning it black and white, now saying Off.

Shelia
Leave a Reply

